Te damos la bienvenida a la comunidad de T!Estás a un paso de acceder al mejor contenido, creado por personas como vos.

O iniciá sesión con
¿No tenés una cuenta?
Jaco Pastorius

Heavy'n Jazz

Heavy 'n Jazz is the last live Jaco Pastorius performance currently available to the public, and is one of the most truly satisfying of his trio recordings. The album is heavy, as the title suggests, thanks to a powerful trio fronted by guitarist extraordinaire Bireli Lagrene displaying his fiercest rock chops. A fast-paced outing with more rock inflection than usual, the compact disc boasts very good sound quality. The performances contrast nicely with Pastorius' live jazz recordings with the Word of Mouth big band (Invitation, The Birthday Concert), particularly the cooker "Reza," which appears on all three sets in vastly different presentations. Every cut on Heavy 'n Jazz is a gem. Of particular interest are Lagrene's solo piece, "Bluma," and his aggressive guitar work on the exciting, soaring "Medley," featuring "Teen Town." Pastorius' playing on "Star Spangled Banner" is at once terrifying and beautiful, while "Honestly" affords him a chance to play the hits -- a collage of some of his oft-played riffs from well known Pastorius/Weather Report compositions. Heavy 'n Jazz is a must for Jaco-philes, however, jazz purists be warned.
(Ross Smith)


1. Broad Way Blues
2. Bluma/Smoke on the Water
3. Medley: Purple Haze/Third Stone from the Sun/Teen Town
4. Star Spangled Banner
5. Reza
6. Honestly
7. Invitation
8. Jaco Reggae


Biréli Lagrène Guitar
Jaco Pastorius Bass, Double Bass
Serge Bringolf Drums